Nixie


It’s April of 2023 and Day 14 of the A to Z challenge. This year, I am doing the theme legendary creatures from cultures and folklore and an eight line poem along.

Day 14: Nixie

Culture: Shape shifting water spirit from German folklore

Description: They have variety of names like Nix, Nokken, Nixy etc. They have also been depicted in various forms over time like worm, dragon etc. Their sex, bynames and transformations vary geographically. They have been known to lure people into water.  

Nixie

If you ever drown,
Do it with grace,
If you ever drown,
Face it and embrace.
While they vary
With name,
There will be a story
Of fame.

Every story that is ever told, has a hero, has a villain. Being fearless is the bottom line.  

Image References: By Theodor Kittelsen – 2. Nasjonalmuseet: No.21. kittelsen.efenstor.net, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=1340906

9 thoughts on “Nixie

  1. I know these as Nokken from my childhood.
    I LOVE being in the water & swimming & diving & I always felt protected by the Nokken, like I was one of them….
    I love the poem you wrote Prakash…it REALLY makes you think!
    ((hugs)) Sherri-Ellen (BellaSita Mum) an **nose rubss** BellaDharma

    Liked by 1 person

Your Comments Are Most Welcome: