Catch-22


C2020

Its April of 2020 and Day 03 of A to Z challenge. This year, I am doing Metaphors. Be it a movie, song, painting, book, idiom, etc. I plan to give a perspective to it with an explanation and a 8 line poem. 


 

Day 03 Metaphor: Catch-22

Catch-22 is a novel by Joseph Heller. Catch-22 as a paradox, makes an escape impossible when one attempts to escape. A catch-22 is a paradoxical situation from which an individual cannot escape because of contradictory rules or limitations. Catch-22 has become one of the best-recognized ways to describe the difficulty of being trapped by contradictory rules.

From logic to scientific research, the term is used in many places. It’s more of a paradox than a metaphor. I personally like this paradox and plan to use it as a metaphor in my poem.

Poem:
Damn, you did it?
Damn, you didn’t?
Damn you!
I have rules,
Made for you,
You don’t know.
I don’t know either,
Oh dear, my catch-22.

Don’t you do that? To the ones you don’t like? Hate begets hate.

20 thoughts on “Catch-22

  1. Interesting poem Prakash…I feel like this Virus has put all of us around the World in a ‘Catch-22’ situation. WE need to go out for groceries; to the Pharmacy; for pet supplies. When we do, we take our life in our own hands & do not know what will happen. It is a real Catch-22…
    {{hugs}} Sherri-Ellen & **purrss** BellaDharma

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi there. I am going around the neighborhood introducing myself. My name is Marc. My blog contains excerpts from my book The Driveway Rules. It contains memoirs about growing up with undiagnosed autism. I hope you stop by.

    Liked by 1 person

Your Comments Are Most Welcome: