Zen in A to Z


It’s April of 2024 and Day 25 of the A to Z challenge. This year I am doing the theme of ‘26 Moments’ on my blog. I plan to pull out A to Z parts from diverse set which are more than just the parts and possibly describe the world of their own.  It can be a wonder, an invention, a community, the philosophy, a thought, a lead, a culture, a design, or basically anything that would make one wonder and ponder on.  26 imperfect petite flashes that are amongst and around us.

My everyday will have a selection, description, an eight line poem followed by an interpretation.


I believe Zen would be a perfect ending to my challenge of 26 moments. Zen means peaceful and calm. Zen is meditation. I guess that is what maturity at the end of the day means. Our life goal is to achieve that. Zen is about being relaxed and not worrying about the things that we cannot change. Zen is a form of Buddhism that originates from Japan. It states that religious knowledge is achieved by giving attention to one thing and not by emptying the mind of thoughts. Zen travels a long history. It comes from Japanese, which is derived from Chinese word ‘Chan’, which in turn is derived from Sanskrit word ‘Dhyana’. Zen asks us to cherish the simplicity and straightforwardness. It asks us to act on reality here and now.  

Enso symbolizes enlightenment in Zen. Image Refeence: By Kanjuro Shibata XX "Ensō (円相)" – Own work, uploaded by Jordan Langelier from his personal collection, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=551770

Poem:
They say,
It’s all a circle.
Do we really need to?
Circle back?
Can’t we just
Stay back
At ‘peace’?
And be a dot.

There comes a day where nothing will make sense and then at the very same time, everything will make sense. We just need to pick that ‘everything’ and be peace with it.

4 thoughts on “Zen in A to Z

  1. A couple of thoughts on Zen. There is an apartment building in Darwin CBD called Zen. I would have loved to have lived there but there were no vacancies when I was looking, so I had to settle for the block across the road. Payable on Death have a song called Higher and in it is the following line: ‘higher…to a place I can only imagine…it’ll all make sense when I get there.’

    https://dacairns.com.au/blog/f/a-to-z-blogging-challenge-z

    Liked by 2 people

Your Comments Are Most Welcome: