Truman Show


T2020

Its April of 2020 and Day 20 of A to Z challenge. This year, I am doing Metaphors. Be it a movie, song, painting, book, idiom, etc. I plan to give a perspective to it with an explanation and a 8 line poem. 


 

Metaphor: The Truman Show

Truman (Jim Carrey) doesn’t know that everything in his life is a live broadcast ‘The Truman Show’. For him, life is a huge TV set. The hidden cameras are capturing his every moves. Isn’t the plot intriguing? If you haven’t, you got to watch this movie. The ending lines of the movie is quite popular. Truman says – ‘Good morning, and in case I don’t see ya, Good afternoon, good evening, and goodnight’.

The movie has a deeper meaning. The movie talks about the freedom and is the way out. It talks about the media-saturated show-off culture. It talks about how unauthentic our life is. It tries to throw light on how technology and artificial living has masqueraded as reality. It explains how free will and reality are illusions. The movie is about us all. By the way, there have been many noted incidents where people believed that their life was a TV show (delusion disease informally referred to as “Truman syndrome).

Poem
Your ears,
I don’t see them.
No, they are there.
Looks like,
You don’t use them.
I like how you run,
A useless,
The Truman show.

I am sure everyone has encountered a personality who just don’t listen. At. All. They order, command, rule, they don’t listen to anything at all!

9 thoughts on “Truman Show

  1. I hadn’t heard of “Truman Syndrome”, and I’ve not seen the movie, as I’don’t really care for Jim Carrey–BUT, I’ve certainly known people who don’t listen at all 🙂 🙂 Great post as usual!!

    Like

  2. Oh, I didn’t know about the movie (and the term). I’ve always enjoyed his movies. Thanks for sharing this one.
    Someone who doesn’t listen? Well, I wouldn’t care enough so don’t think I met anybody as yet. Touchwood. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Your Comments Are Most Welcome: